Board of Education

Cassopolis Public Schools Board Members

Deb Deubner
Amanda Smego
 Deb Deubner, President  Amanda Smego, Vice President
 [email protected]  [email protected]
 22721 Diamond Cove Street   22721 Diamond Cove Street
 Cassopolis, MI  49031  Cassopolis, MI 49031
Teresa Dahlgren Jesse Bement
Teresa Dahlgren, Secretary Jesse Bement, Treasurer
 [email protected]  [email protected]
 22721 Diamond Cove Street  22721 Diamond Cove Street
Cassopolis, MI  49031 Cassopolis, MI  49031

Scott Ward, Trustee Sue Horstmann, Trustee
 [email protected]  [email protected]
 22721 Diamond Cove Street  22721 Diamond Cove Street
Cassopolis, MI 49031 Cassopolis, MI 49031

Aaron Steensma
Aaron Steensma, Trustee
 [email protected]  
 22721 Diamond Cove Street  
Cassopolis, MI 49031  


The Board of Education is frequently the closest link between the community and the school aside from the students in the District.  Board members are elected for four-year terms of office.

Board meetings are held at:
Cassopolis Ross Beatty High School
22721 Diamond Cove Street
Cassopolis, MI 49031
All regularly scheduled board meetings are open to the public and it has always been the policy in Cassopolis to encourage attendance at these meetings.  Special meetings are called in advance; agendas and meetings are posted according to requirements.

The Board of Education sets school policies, approves the appointment of personnel, adopts budgets, approves courses of study and, in many instances, must be the final arbiter on many controversial issues. The Board and the Superintendent are concerned about an effective program of communication, keeping the community informed in a manner that understanding and confidence are engendered in the school program.


The Cassopolis Public Schools Board of Education will meet in Regular Session on the following Mondays for the 2021-2022 school year. If necessary, Special Sessions will be scheduled and posted according to the Open Meetings Act (OMA). NOTE: Meetings begin at 6:30 p.m.

July 19, 2021

August 16, 2021

September 20, 2021

October 11, 2021

November 15, 2021

December 13, 2021

January 10, 2022

February 14, 2022

March 21, 2022

April 18, 2022

May 16, 2022

June 20, 2022


Unless otherwise posted, all Regular and Special Meetings of the Board of Education will be held in the Media Center at Cassopolis Ross Beatty High School, 22721 Diamond Cove Street, Cassopolis. For questions, please call the Superintendent’s Office at 269-445-0503.